Our Residents

Chief Residents - PGY 4 Pathology

Chelsea Kidd, MD

Chelsea Kidd, MD
Chelsea.Kidd@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Richmond, Virginia
Undergrad School: Virginia Tech
Medical School: VCU School of Medicine
Hobbies: Cooking, exploring, crafts, and sunshine!

Jaime Singh, MD

Jaime Singh, MD
Jaime.Singh@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Winston-Salem, NC
Undergrad School: BA in International Studies; Minor in Japanese language at the University of North Carolina at Charlotte.
Medical School: West Virginia University School of Medicine
Career Interests: Undecided
Hobbies: Fantasy and paranormal fiction novels, crime shows, arts and culture, Paint Nites, shopping, museums, going to the movies, yoga.

PGY 4 Pathology

Henry Bateman, MD, PhD

Henry Bateman, MD, PhD
Henry.Bateman@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Mechanicsville, Virginia
Undergrad School: Virginia Tech
Medical School: University of South Carolina
Career Interests: Dermatopathology, Molecular Genetic Pathology, Forensic Pathology
Hobbies: Fishing, hiking, camping, gardening

PGY 3 Pathology

Paulo Garcia

Paulo Garcia, MD
Paulo.Garcia@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Las Vegas, NV
Undergrad School: University of Nevada, Reno
Medical School: University of Nevada School of Medicine
Career Interests: Molecular pathology, gastrointestinal pathology, and breast pathology
Hobbies: Rock climbing (indoor/outdoor, bouldering, and sport), cycling, backpacking, camping, snowboarding, cooking, and reading sci-fi novels

Matthew Gayhart

Matthew G. Gayhart, MD
Matthew.Gayhart@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Louisville, KY
Undergrad School: Bellarmine University
Medical School: University of Louisville School of Medicine
Career Interests: Molecular Pathology
Hobbies: Travelling to new places, spending time outdoors

Jeremiah Karrs, DO

Jeremiah Karrs, DO
Jeremiah.Karrs@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Lewisburg, WV
Undergrad School: University of Mary Washington
Medical School: West Virginia School of Osteopathic Medicine
Career Interests: Informatics, Molecular Pathology
Hobbies: Sports, NBA, Music

Patrick Memari

Patrick Memari, DO
Patrick.Memari@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Greensburg, PA
Undergrad School: Washington & Jefferson College
Medical School: LECOM
Career Interests: Molecular diagnostics, Dermatopathology
Hobbies: Cooking, Music, Snowboarding, Hiking

Makinzie Mott

Makinzie Mott, MD
Makinzie.Mott@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Gilbertsville, KY
Undergrad School: Murray State University
Medical School: University of Louisville
Career interests: GYN and breast pathology, cytopathology, forensic pathology
Hobbies: Hiking, camping, PC and console gaming, reading

Irene Shyu

Irene Shyu, MD
Irene.Shyu@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Kingston, Ontario
Undergrad School: Dartmouth College
Medical School: Vanderbilt University School of Medicine
Hobbies: Hiking, music, art, cooking

 

PGY 2 Pathology

Lorraine Colón Cartagena, MD
LorraineColónCartagena@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Gurabo, Puerto Rico
Undergrad School: University of Puerto Rico
Medical School: San Juan Bautista School of Medicine
Career Interests: Surgical Pathology/ Neuropathology
Hobbies: Violinist

Ashley Ellis, MD

Ashley Ellis, MD
Ashley.Ellis@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Mobile, AL
Undergrad School: Washington University in St. Louis B.A. and University of Alabama at Birmingham B.S. 
Medical School: University of Alabama School of Medicine 
Career Interests: Molecular and surgical pathology
Hobbies: Spending time with my labrador, attending concerts, astronomy/cosmology

Daniel Neal, MD
Daniel.Neal@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Richmond, VA
Undergrad School: Virginia Tech
Medical School: Edward Via College of Osteopathic Medicine
Career Interests: Surgical Pathology
Hobbies: Basketball, tennis, cooking, art

Kaitlyn Wieditz, MD, MPH
Kaitlyn.Wieditz@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Flemington NJ
Undergrad School: Sweet Briar College
Medical School: St. George’s University
Career Interests: Forensics
Hobbies: Baking, horseback riding, and traveling

Patricija Zot, MD
Patricija.Zot@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Winnipeg, Manitoba (Canada)
Undergrad School: University of Manitoba
Medical School: International American University
Career Interests: Molecular and surgical pathology
Hobbies: Hiking, skiing, snowboarding, cooking and watching sci-fi movies.

PGY 1 Pathology

Nicole Johnson, DO
Nicole.K.Johnson@vcuhealth.org
Medical School: Pacific Northwest University of Health Sciences College of Osteopathic Medicine

Samia Liaquat, MD
Samia.Liaquat@vcuhealth.org
Medical School: Medical University of the Americas (Nevis)

Dana Martin, MD
Dana.Martin@vcuhealth.org
Medical School: The Commonwealth Medical College

Anne Prater, DO
Anne.Prater@vcuhealth.org
Medical School: Lake Erie College of Osteopathic Medicine, Erie