Our Fellows

Cytopathology Fellows

Nabil Ashraf, MD

Nabil Ashraf, MD
Nabil.Ashraf@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Great Falls, Virginia
Undergrad School: George Mason, VA
Medical School: St. George’s University, Grenada
Residency: Virginia Commonwealth University
Career interests: Cytopathology, General Surgical Pathology, Hematopathology
Hobbies: Playing and watching sports, traveling, hiking

Rongqin Ren, MD

Rongqin Ren, MD
Rongqin.Ren@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Shanghai, China
Undergrad & Medical School: Medical College of Fudan University (Formal Shanghai Medical University)
Residency: East Carolina University (Anatomic and Clinical Pathology)
Career Interests: Molecular Genetic Pathology, Cytopathology
Hobbies: Stand-up comedian and perform at local comedy clubs regularly

 

Hematopathology Fellows

Andy Lim, MD

Andy Lim, MD
Andy.Lim1@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Overland Park, Kansas
Undergrad School: University of Kansas
Medical School: University of Kansas School of Medicine Career Interests: Surgical Pathology, Hematopathology
Residency: Georgia Regents University 
Hobbies: Photography, hiking, traveling, spending time with my family.

Niru Nahar

Niru Nahar, MBBS
Niru.Nahar@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Bangladesh
Undergrad: Holy Cross College, Dhaka, Bangladesh
Med School: Mymensingh Medical College, Bangladesh
Residency: Creighton University Program (Anatomic & Clinical Pathology)
Career Interests: Surgical pathology and hematopathology
Hobbies: Beading, cooking and gardening

Molecular Genetic Pathology Fellows

Vitalii S. Borodin, MD

Vitalii S. Borodin, MD
Vitalii.S.Borodin@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Bishkek, Kyrgyzstan (in the US – Malvern, PA)
Undergrad School: Kyrgyz Russian Slavic University, Kyrgyzstan
Medical School: Kyrgyz Russian Slavic University, Kyrgyzstan
Residency: Drexel University School of Medicine
Career Interests: Molecular pathology, Liquid Biopsy, Early cancer detections techniques, Next Generation Sequencing
Hobbies: Investing, Piloting, Running, Movies, Tennis

Oana Rafael, MD

Oana C. Rafael, MD
Oana.C.Rafael@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Ploiesti, Romania
Undergrad & Medical School: 'Carol Davila' University of Medicine and Pharmacy, Bucharest, Romania
Residency: North Shore LIJ - Lenox Hill Hospital, New York, NY (Anatomic and Clinical Pathology)
Career Interests: Molecular Genetic Pathology, Cytopathology, translational research
Hobbies: traveling, cooking, gardening 

Neuropathology Fellow

Yuan Rong, MD, PhD

Yuan Rong, MD, PhD
Yuan.Rong@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Beijing, China
Undergrad & Medical School: Beijing Medical University
Residency: Emory University School of Medicine (Anatomic and Clinical Pathology)
Career Interests: Neuropathology, especially brain tumor 
Hobbies: Sports

Surgical Pathology Fellow

Marcus Winkler, DO

Marcus Winkler, DO
Marcus.Winkler@vcuhealth.org
Hometown: Knoxville, TN
Undergrad School: Lincoln Memorial University
Medical School: LMU - DeBusk College of Osteopathic Medicine
Residency: University of Tennessee College of Medicine (Anatomic and Clinical Pathology)
Career Interests: Hematopathology, Surgical Pathology
Hobbies: Collegiate and professional sports, travel, outdoors